Movie Monday

**DISCLAIMER** Clearly it is NOT Monday. However, I began this post on Monday with every intention of finishing said post ON MONDAY. Unfortunately, 2 of my little sprites came home from school sick – and since all magical creatures need nurturing and care, I was called away from my writing duties.  Soooooo, let’s try again.

Mondays will heretofore be known as “Movie Monday”! Who wouldn’t rather think movies on a Monday than….well, than anything that usually occurs on Monday.  You’re welcome.

When I was a kid, I spent lots of time with my dad engrossed in Star Trek and Star Wars. I know, I know. Most nerds out there want to be one or the other, Trekkie or Jedi, Marvel or DC, monsters or aliens…do we really have to make a choice? On this forum, NO! We don’t! We are going to embrace it all – from the “Trouble with Tribbles” to A New Hope. That’s how my dad raised me – to treat all syfy entities the same.

A LONG TIME AGO IN A GALAXY FAR, FAR AWAY…

And so, it is with great enthusiasm that I embark on this discussion about Star Wars: The Force Awakens. I know some fans were less than pleased with the new installment, however, I found it enjoyable, fun, exciting, memorable and an excellent tribute to the original Episodes IV, V and VI.

BB8 found its way into our hearts as the lovable android sidekick. And following in the footsteps of R2D2 and C3PO, almost stole the show.  Everyone is happy that Epi VII didn’t experience another mishap like JarJar Binks…

The filming itself was simple and understated.  It seemed that with the newer installments of Epis I-III that filmmakers were trying to awe the audience with over the top special effects. Star Wars has no need for special effects – IT HAS LIGHT SABERS! ….and a Wookie.

I was super excited to have Chewie back in the game. Harrison Ford and Ms. Fisher were spot on.  Their presence made the film endearing and almost like coming home.  Thank goodness no one let slip any spoilers before I was able to see the show – otherwise I wouldn’t have nerded out with a shout of excitement and joy when the Millennium Falcon made its first appearance.

images-9Star-Wars-The-Force-Awakens-John-Boyega

The acting was on par with previous Star Wars features.  No one is going to win an Oscar for the series, but he or she will certainly find an incredible fandom previously unknown.  Daisy Ridley was memorable as Rey and portrayed a remarkable, budding young Jedi. She was strong willed and persistent without being offputting as a character. John Boyega’s character Finn was a great complement to Ridley’s Rey. The two played well off one another and both are characters I look forward to seeing more of in future episodes.

So what are your thoughts? Did you like the new installment? Or not? Either one is perfectly acceptable. Jump on in with your thoughts. Oh, and may the force be with you.

(Star Wars images from: Rey: hitfix.com / Finn: thesource.com)

 

Leave a Reply

